Get a visual confirmation of the lock
On the file icon a lock will appear to indicate that the file is locked for editing. Users can still look into the file or create a new copy of the file.
Every user can request information about the user that locked the file. Administrators can always override and remove the file lock.
Specific file types can be locked automatically
For Microsoft Word and Excel files you can decide for each shared folder if you want these files to be locked automatically when opened by a user.
The user can subsequently decide whether he or she wants to receive a confirmation message of the automatic locking, or not.
The user will receive this notification while saving, if the file is locked by another user.