Team Share Permission Roles

Overview

Team Shares allow users to collaborate on shared content in one centralized area. You might create separate Team Shares for each department, or for project teams, to allow subscribers to collaborate on the same files and folders.

To support the collaboration process, subscribers can be assigned to roles that control their access rights within the Team Share. Roles can be assigned at the Group level, or to individual user accounts.

Roles

The following roles can be assigned to each account or Group subscribed to the Team Share:

  • The Co-Owner has total control over content. This role is the best option for administrators.
  • The Collaborator (default role) has the ability to seamlessly work with others by creating share links and modifying all content locally and on the web. This role is the best option for team leaders and project managers.
  • The Editor is similar to the Collaborator, but without the ability to generate share links. This role is the best option for individual contributors who need to collaborate or modify content locally and on the web.
  • The Web Editor is similar to the Editor, but without the ability to download or sync content locally. Web Editors can edit the content within the Collaborative Web Editor only. This role is the best option for users who need to collaborate with guests outside of the organization.
  • The Viewer is a restricted role, only giving users the ability to view content. This role is the best option for individual contributors who need to view content locally or on the web, but who do not need to edit content.
  • The Previewer is a restricted role, only giving users the ability to preview content in the web portal. This role is the best option for publishing content externally to the public on the web.
  • The Uploader is a restricted role, only giving users the ability to view folder structures (not files) and upload files and folders on the web. This role is the best option if you need to request content from the user.

 

user permission roles - vBoxxCloud


Permission Descriptions for Each Role

The following table provides a description of each permission type.


Item (file or folder)

Owner: Can change the permission of the file or folder

Trim: Can trim revisions (delete revisions) of the file or folder

Purge: Can permanently purge the file or folder

Delete: Can delete the file or folder

Share: Can create a share link to the file or folder

Sync: Can download and sync the file or folder (and folder contents) to devices


File

View: Can preview file contents (cannot download or print)

Print: Can print

Read: Can download and sync the file to devices

Write: Can modify the file

Web Edit: Can modify the file on the web only


Folder

List: Can view the list of contents within a folder (does not imply any access to listed files)

Create: Can create a folder or file within this folder

Delete: Can delete a folder of file within this folder


 Assigning Team Share Roles

To configure permissions for a Team Share:

 

1. In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization where the Team Share resides. The selected organization displays.

2. Within the organization, click the Shares tab. The Shares page displays, listing all Team Shares available within the organization.


manage team shares - vBoxxCloud

 

3. Click the Create button to create a new Team Share. Alternatively, to update an existing Team Share, click the Team Share’s Manage Subscribers button

manage team share subscribers - vBoxxCloud


4. In the Subscribers section, use the checkboxes to select the Accounts or Groups who will have access to the Team Share. Please note that when you select an entire Group, all members of that Group will be automatically included as subscribers.


5. After each group and account has been selected, use the Permission column to assign a role at the Group or Account level.

ABy default, each selected subscriber is assigned the Collaborator permission. Click the Collaborator button to edit the user's permission.

 

Manage team share subscribers - vBoxxCloud

B. Select the appropriate role for the user. For a description of each role, please reference the table above.


team share subscribers role - vBoxxCloud


6. Select the appropriate role for the user. For a description of each role, please reference the table above.

 

User collaborator role - vBoxxCloud


7. Click the Save button to save your changes.

 

Assigning Team Share Roles while creating a user

you can also define Team Share roles when adding individual accounts to an organization.

1. In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization in which you want to create the new user account. The selected organization displays.

2. Click the Accounts tab. The Accounts page displays.

3. In the Accounts page, click the Create Account button.

 user accounts panel - vBoxxCloud

4. In the Subscribe to Team Shares section, select the Team Shares to which the user should be given access. You can optionally use the search box to search for Team Shares.

5. Within the same section, use the Permission column to assign a role for this user within the specific Team Share.

user roles - vBoxxCloud

6. Click the Save button to save your changes.


The Desktop Client Experience

When working from the desktop client, users who attempt to perform an unauthorized action will receive an error message.user permissions vboxx sync tool - vBoxxCloud

In some instances, a user might encounter a file sync warning. 

To Resolve a Team Share Role Warning:

1. When an issue occurs, the user will see a Resolve Sync Warning icon over the system tray icon and within the system tray menu:vBoxx sync tool icon warning - vBoxxCloud

2. Click the system tray icon and select the Sync Warnings button.

The Preference dialog box displays, showing the warnings tab. An error related to permissions will be noted.

vboxx sync tool user permissions - vBoxxCloud

 

3. Click the Resolve link to learn more about the warning. A pop-up window displays, explaining the permission conflict.

user permissions desktop notification - vBoxxCloud

4. Click the Discard button to discard the copy without saving changes.